President Mahama assumes office today

99206432.295President-elect John Dramani Mahama will assume office today, Monday January 7, as the fourth President of the Fourth Republic of Ghana.

President John Dramani Mahama and Vice President Paa Kwesi Amissah-Arthur are expected to take the oath of office to be administered by the Chief Justice, Mrs Theodora Georgina Wood before an open Parliament at the Independence Square in Accra.
A large contingent of Ghanaians and other nationals are expected to witness the historic event at the Square, whilst millions more across the world will watch the coronation on television at about 10:00 hours.
A remarkable aspect of the coronation is that President Mahama will be handing over the sword of office to himself as he assumed the mantle of leadership to finish the unexpired Presidency of the late President John Evans Atta Mills on July 24, 2012.

President John Dramani Mahama will swear the Presidential Oath which will be administered by Chief Justice, Mrs Justice Georgina Theodora Wood, in the presence of a new Parliament and its new Speaker.
Expected to grace the occasion are foreign heads of state, foreign delegations, Former President Jerry John Rawlings and Former John Agyekum Kufuor, the diplomatic community in Ghana and other very important personalities.
GNA observed during a visit to the Independence Square on Sunday that the arch have been decorated with national colours while the electric poles, tress and some buildings along the principal streets leading to the square have also been garlanded in the national flag.
Poles erected along the principal streets specifically for the ceremony are also flying high the national flag, creating a beautiful ambiance. The national security has also mounted barricades at designated points.
Commodore Steve Obimpeh, Grounds Committee Chairman of the National Transition Team, told the GNA that the Square would be transformed into an open Parliament for Monday’s inaugural ceremony.
Ms Akua Sena Dansua, Minister for Tourism also said the Transitional Team had had enough time to take the necessary measures to ensure that the ceremony was well organised.
She appealed to the public to cooperate with the security agencies for a successful inaugural ceremony.
Thirteen Heads of State, mostly from West Africa, have confirmed to honour the coronation of President-elect John Mahama.
They are: African Union Chairman and President of Benin, Mr Yayi Boni, President Blaise Compaore, Burkina Faso, President Goodluck Jonathan, Nigeria, President Jacob Zuma, South Africa, and President Jakaya Kikwete of Tanzania.
President Alassane Ouattara, La Cote d’Ivoire, President Macky Sall, Senegal, President Ellen Johnson Sirleaf, Liberia, President Teodora Nbiang Nguema Mbasogo, Equatorial Guinea, President Mahamadou Issoufou, Niger, President Michael Sata, Zambia, President Faure Essozimna Gnassingbe, Togo and President Mohamed Abdelaziz, of Sahrawi Republic.
According to the Ministry of Foreign Affairs and Regional Integration, most of the visiting heads of state would arrive in Ghana on Monday morning.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s